Top 5……Of the Saddest Book’s I’ve ever read. (This is my take on Top 5 Wednesday)

Top 5……Of the Saddest Book’s I’ve ever read. (This is my take on Top 5 Wednesday)

  1. The Long Road Home by Danielle Steel- A novel of courage, hope and love…

    From her secret perch at the top of the stairs, seven-year-old Gabriella watches the guests arrive at her parents’ lavish Manhattan home. The click, click click of her mother’s high heels strikes terror into her heart, as she has been told that she is to blame for her mother’s rage – and her father’s failure to protect her. Her world is a confusing blend of terror, betrayal and pain, and Gabriella knows that there is no safe place for her to hide.

    (I think this was one of the very first Bawl your eyes out kinda story’s and the only Danielle Steel book I’ve read. It was so heart breaking at every turn)

  2. She Died to Young by Lurlene McDaniel- Chelsea James and Katie O’Roark met at Jenny House and spent a wonderful summer together.

    Now Chelsea and her mother are staying with Katie as Chelsea awaits news concerning a heart transplant. While waiting for a compatible donor, Chelsea meets Jillian, a girl who’s funny and kind. Jillian is also waiting. She needs a heart-lung transplant. The two girls become fast friends. When Chelsea meets Jillian’s brother, he awakens feelings in Chelsea she’s never known before. However, as her medical situation grows desperate, Chelsea finds herself in a contest for her life against her very best friend.

    Is it fair that there’s only a chance for one of them to survive? ( I have loved L.M’s books since I was like 11 and each and every one of them has the ability to ripe out your heart and stomp on it and somehow at the same time make your heart swell with the hope and love and courage that these kids have.)

  3. Heartless by Marissa Meyer- Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

    At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

    Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans. ( I had reservation’s going into this story even though I adored her lunar Chronicles series but I fell in love so fast with it once I cracked it open even though it killed me and I need more {I need to reread it soon}.

  4. Harry Potter (The entire series) I’m certain I don’t need to explain myself with this choice.
  5. Changeless by Gail Carriger- Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.

    First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

    Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire–and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

    With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart? (while this is not the summary of Changeless it is for the first book in the series. I have such a fondness for this series and saying that I consider changeless to be heartbreaking {you’ll have to read to find out why}).

 

So there you have it my Take on the ever popular Top 5 Wednesday I hope you all have either read some of these or feel the pull to do so. I’m sorry I’ve been so inconsistent with posting I’ve been trying to catch up in a few series I’m reading (Stay tuned for reviews)

Till Next time

Kris

Leave a Reply

