Romancing the Inventor by Gail Carriger

Romancing the Inventor

Gail Carriger

Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Steam punk, LGBTQ+, supernatural

This is a stand-alone LBGTQ sweet romance set in Gail Carriger’s Parasolverse, full of class prejudice, elusive equations, and paranormal creatures taking tea.

Delicate Sensibilities? This story contains women pleasing women and ladies who know what they want and pursue it, sometimes in exquisite detail.

Imogene Hale is a lowly parlourmaid with a soul-crushing secret. Seeking solace, she takes work at a local hive, only to fall desperately in love with the amazing lady inventor the vampires are keeping in the potting shed.

Genevieve Lefoux is heartsick, lonely, and French. With culture, class, and the lady herself set against the match, can Imogene and her duster overcome all odds and win Genevieve’s heart, or will the vampires suck both of them dry?

When I heard Miss Gail was putting a Novella that had ‘Vive in it I was so excited I Could hardly wait, but wait I had to….I was broke 😦 Lol. But As soon as I had the money I one clicked it from Amazon and had to wait almost two weeks well a week and a half, but still to us that feels like eons.

Have you ever gotten a book and been so excited to read it that you just couldn’t bring your self to pick it up for fear it wont be what you want? Well that was me for two days after opening that Book depository package (that was the seller I got it from on Amazon).

Then on Tuesday I read a couple pages but didn’t continue till Thursday I sat down in my Book Nook and stayed up till after 10:00pm to finish it.

For a novella of 193 pages, this story was more then I could have hope for and while I wish it was much longer it was perfect.

Imogene was the perfect pick as the love interest for ‘Vieve all feminine and soft where ‘Vieve is masculine in her dressing and acting. All Imogene wanted was to find where she belonged. I loved that she was relatable in how she acted in every situation she got into.

I love Genevieve, she is one of my absolute favorite character’s ever and has been since we first met her in Etiquette and Espionage and I hope to see her in another book or that we see another novella about them.

I gave this Novella a 5/5 star’s. The writing was so smooth that it felts if I were right there Beside ‘Vieve in her workshop helping tinker with her projects.

Leave a Reply

