The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

This book will be released on March 7,2017

______________________________________________________________________________________

THE ROANOKE GIRLS by Amy Engel (http://amyengel.net/ ) She wrote the YA series The Book of Ivy I’ve not yet read this series but I have heard really good things about it. This is her first novel for adults.

There are 274 pages

Genre: Adult, Suspense, mystery

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Quote “Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.”

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Synopsis

After her mother’s suicide, fifteen year-old Lane Roanoke came to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, on their vast estate in rural Kansas. Lane knew little of her mother’s mysterious family, but she quickly embraced life as one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls. But when she discovered the dark truth at the heart of the family, she ran…fast and far away.

Eleven years later, Lane is adrift in Los Angeles when her grandfather calls to tell her Allegra has gone missing. Did she run too? Or something worse? Unable to resist his pleas, Lane returns to help search, and to ease her guilt at having left Allegra behind. Her homecoming may mean a second chance with the boyfriend whose heart she broke that long ago summer. But it also means facing the devastating secret that made her flee, one she may not be strong enough to run from again.

As it weaves between Lane’s first Roanoke summer and her return, The Roanoke Girls shocks and tantalizes, twisting its way through revelation after mesmerizing revelation, exploring the secrets families keep and the fierce and terrible love that both binds them together and rips them apart.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Going into this book I didn’t actually know much about it besides what the Synopsis outlined, and I was glad about that. When I received it Yesterday (March 2) I immediately started reading it and enjoying it. I am almost 80 pages in and I’m really liking Amy’s writing style.

(March 3) I read this in just over a day which surprised me because I wasn’t sure I’d even finish it but the story was so gripping I didn’t want to put it down to even go to bed.

The writing was so smooth and the story sucks you right in and the characters you can’t help but just root for. I liked how her character’s were more like real people then some made up person who has it all handed to them and doesn’t have to search for answers.

The secrets in this book will send you on an adventure through real life problems like death And growing up in troubled homes And jealousy in families and how a person never really knows happening in someone else’s life.

I was sent this book from http://www.Bloggingforbooks.com in exchange for an honest review and I Honestly really loved it and I can not wait to get my hand’s on more of Miss Engel’s work.

 

Leave a Reply

