Heartless: Marissa Meyer

Book Title: Heartless

By: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends 

Pages: 450

Genre: YA, Retelling, Alice in Wonderland.

Started: January 15 ,2017. Ended: January 20,2017

___________________________________________

Excerpt: 

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.
_____________________________________________

1/15/2017

I started this book only hours after my mother finished it. I wasn’t going to start it for a while but Seeing as how she enjoyed it so much and I had been craving more Alice in Wonderland inspired works I picked it up only an hour after she turned the book over to me. 

That first night I read 94 pages and had to force myself to sit Heartless aside and go to bed or else I would have been awake all night reading it.

How I discovered/acquired this book?: I discovered this because of Booktube as well as Booksagram.

What I Loved about this story: I loved the insight into “The Queen of Hearts” past and what exactly it was that could’ve turned her into the heartless Queen Alice meets

What I disliked about this book: There wasn’t a whole lot that I disliked about Heartless.  

Note worthy experiences while reading this book?: This is actually the first book in a long while that I’ve finished in less then a week. I was in such a reading slump last year and it made me so sad but this book had me to were I did not what to put it down. My heart would race and I felt as if I were feeling everything Lady Catherine was feeling. 

World building: The world Building in this story was beautiful. From the way Marissa describes the gardens to the Turtle Rock Cove to the Crossroads and the Castle. It was all done in a way that it was so easy for me to imagine I was there at every turn.

Characters: Each Character from Catherine to to the White Rabbit was great. I wasn’t impressed by The Knave ,Mary Anne, or Catherine’s Mother and Father. 

Plot: Oh the Plot Twist I did not see that coming. 

Check out Author’s other Book: The Lunar Chronological     

Overall feelings on the book: It Broke my Heart but it was everything I had hoped for in the end.

Rating’s:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

