The Sword of Summer 

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard-Book one

By: Rick Riordan.

Publisher: Disney Hyperion.

Pages: 499.

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Action, Mythology.

Started: January 1,2016. Ended: October 14,2016

________________________________________________________

My name is Magnus Chase. I’m sixteen years old. This is the story of how my life went downhill after i got myself killed.

________________________________________________________

10/14

What I Loved about this story-

I loved the characters mostly. Magnus is a good kid whose had to learn how to survive a life on the street’s that no body that young and when even worse things begin to happen he is definitely up for the challenge (once he gets over thinking he’s hallucinating).

Blitzen and Hearthstone are a super fun pair that i wish were in my life.

Sam, now i am not one hundred percent sold on her character (and not because of whose daughter she is) but because I haven’t connected to her character just yet, she feels as if she’s just been placed there. Hopefully as I get deeper into the series I’ll grow to like her.

The Gods as of where i am right now in the book, don’t seem as well done as his greek and roman ones did but at the time of writing this part I’m only half way through so that will probably change.

I am enjoying the Boston setting as it is a place I’d like to visit in the future.

The thought of the norse afterlife being a Hotel is a really awesome concept to me as I don’t think I’ve come across this in any other books I’ve read.

This place really needs to let me in!

______________________________

10/15

Update! Guys , i finished it….Can you believe it. I stayed up until almost 12:00Am to do so. HaHa…..Yawn (i think it’s nap time though. J/K.)

Ok so i was right about Sam idid end up actually liking her character more then I previously thought, it took the last 200 pages but thats ok better late then never, right.

Blitz and hearth i grew to love even more then i did before they are both so much stronger then they believed them selves to be.
What i disliked about this book-

Now as much as i loved Rick’s Percy Jackson and his Heroes of Olympus series as well as the Kane Chronicles, i had quite a bit of trouble getting into this book I mostly think it’s because I’m not as interested in Norse Mythology as i am Greek and Egyptian mythology.

The second half is starting to pick up some so hopefully i won’t have the same thoughts after.

______________________________

10/15

Update again !

So the Norse thing is still a slight problem but not as bad as before.

There were some ‘Gods’ that I thought were a bit much but maybe that was because i was tired. Oh well, its ok.
Quotes

I didn’t actually pay attention to quotes really there was a lot of good dialogue but not enough so that i was overwhelmed that i had to write them down.
Overall feelings on the book

My overall feelings on this book is that its a really good and i can’t wait to continue on with book two (Which i have in my possession!!!!)

Rating

🗡 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🗡

Leave a Reply

