Miss Peregrine’s Home for peculiar children book to movie review

When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers… and their powerful enemies. Ultimately, Jacob discovers that only his own special “peculiarity” can save his new friends.

This past weekend My Mother and I went to our local movie theater to see this movie. while my mom wasn’t quiet done with the book I had finished it several month’s ago and enjoyed immensely  (She did finish it a few day’s after seeing the movie and she to really enjoyed it.)

While we both really liked the movie and even though Tim made a few changes to the second half of the movie I actually did not mind those changes. (Gasp) I know I usually argue with the movie as I am watching it because I can ‘t keep my inner dialogue just that INNER (my boyfriend hate’s watching movies with me for this very reason).

With Miss Emma Bloom I was confused at first as to why the would switch her and Olives powers but as the characters interacted more I found I also didn’t mind this change, (still confused though….was anyone else??? Please let us know.)

***

Cast

Miss Peregrine-  Eva Greene

Asa Butterfield- Jacob

Chris O’Dowl- Dad

Terence Stamp- Abe

Ella Purnell- Emma Bloom

Finlay MacMillan- Enoch

Lauren McCrostie- Olive

Hayden Kellen-Stone- Horace

Georgia Pemberton- Fiona

Milo Parker- Hugh

Raffielle Chapmen- Claire

Pixie Davis- Bronwyn

Camron King- Millar

***

Now when I first heard about this cast of Character’s I was a little iffy Miss. P is an older lady and Eva most definitely is not but I was really surprised at the way she portrayed  The Leader of this ragtag cast of orphans.

Asa was not my favorite pick for Jacob, his acting was emotionally stiff in the beginning of the movie I feel if he had put more behind feelings it he could have been a way better Jake but his acting did improve in the second half of the movie.

Now I loved Ella Purnell as Emma in my opinion I don’t know of any one else who would have been better.

Now I am very sure that y’all don’t want my thoughts on all of the other character’s but here’s my last one…Promise.

Finlay MacMillan as Enoch, Now in the book they portray Enoch as a younger boy but I actually really liked Finlay’s way of bringing him to life it was Slightly dark and made me want to see so much more of him.

So basically what I am saying is I can’t wait to see this movie over and over again and here’s to hoping the Hollow city will get it’s chance at the Big screen.

 

See ya next time..

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

